Research Projects

A2 (A07)

Bild_A2_010813

Mesostructured Composites Based on 1D Polyelectrolytic Templates as versatile catalysis platform

Contact:

Prof. Dr. Josef Breu Dr. Holger Schmalz


One-dimensional polyelectrolytic templates (cylindrical brushes, patchy cylindrical micelles) will be employed for the synthesis of hierarchically porous, inorganic catalysts and supports. Using this concept, thermally and mechanically stable transition metal oxides for the detoxification of waste water as well as the electrocatalytic water splitting will be developed. In addition, the influence of the basicity of the support on the catalytic activity of supported Pd nanoparticles will be studied. Furthermore, we aim on the development of more efficient heterogeneous catalysts using patchy fiber mats as carriers for catalytically active nanoparticles.

A6

A6_Bild

Synthesis of Porous Hybrid Materials based on Layered Silicates: Functional Intercalates, Separation, and Catalysis

Contact:

Prof. Dr. Josef Breu Prof. Dr. Rainer Schobert


An optimized melt synthesis of a charge homogenous hectorite allows for fundamental insights into the process of swelling and provides various ways for the functionalization of internal and external surfaces. A general procedure based on osmotic swelling of 1D-heterostructures makes double stacks and Janus-type platelets accessible. Intercalation of spacers (pillars, nanoparticles) creates micropores materials for gas separation and catalysis. This project explores the application of functionalized colloidal layered silicates derived from various methods of structuring.

A8

Bild Homepage A8_22.11.17

Mesoscopic 2D- and 3D-scaffolds made of spider silk proteins providing bacteriostatic surfaces and anti-bacterial properties

Contact:

   Prof. Dr. Thomas Scheibel


In this project influences of molecular and varying processing parameters on distinct properties of recombinant spider silk materials have been investigated. The results reveal insights into molecular details of silk assembly. Based on the new findings it has been able to assemble biotech spider silk-like fibers with nature-like mechanical properties. Further, it has been possible to coat implants and catheters to improve their biocompatibility and to reduce unwanted side-effects upon implantation. Finally, self-supporting spider silk films were compounded with nanoclay to yield gas and water vapor barriers.

A10

Logo

Meso-structuration of Spin Crossover Nanoparticles

Contact:

  Prof. Dr. Birgit Weber


In the frame of this subproject the synthesis and meso-structuration of spin crossover (SCO) nanoparticles are investigated. The aim is to use self-assembled block copolymer structures (spherical micelles or cylinder micelles) as matrix to control particle size and morphology. The influence of those two parameters, but also of particle-matrix and particle-particle interactions on the spin crossover properties (hysteresis, memory effect) will be investigated. Different methods for the assembly of the particles on surfaces will be tested.

A12

Bild_A12_030713

Porous compartmentalized multi-catalytic electrospun membranes for reaction cascades in one-pot using ‘Wolf-Lamb’ catalysts

Contact:

Prof. Dr. Seema Agarwal, Prof. Dr. Stephan Gekle


Compartmentalized fibrous membranes and fiber morphologies with very high porosity and diverse pore size will be explored as novel multi-catalysts carrier for site-isolated immobilisation of incompatible (Wolf-Lamb type) catalysts in one-pot cascade reactions. The side-by-side and coaxial structures established in the first part of the project offer a unique opportunity for immobilisation of multiple catalysts in a site-specific manner with additional advantages of high porosity required for mass transport, upscalability and reusability. The study will combine experiments and computer simulations to make quantitative predictions and to understand the catalytic processes in flows through geometrically complex media.

University Bayreuth -

Forschungsprojekte

A2 (A07)

Bild_A2_010813

Mesostrukturierte Komposite auf Basis von 1D polyelektrolytischen Templaten als vielseitige Katalyseplattform

Kontakt: Professor Dr. Josef Breu, Dr. Holger Schmalz
Mit 1D polyelektrolytischen Templaten (Zylinderbürsten, patch-artige Zylindermizellen) sollen hierarchisch poröse anorganische Katalysatoren und Träger hergestellt werden. Dieses Konzept wird für die Entwicklung von thermisch und mechanisch stabilen Übergangs¬metalloxiden für die photokatalytische Detoxifizierung von Klinikabwässern und die elektro¬katalytische Wasser-spaltung genutzt. Zudem soll der Einfluss der Trägerbasizität auf die katalytischen Eigenschaften von geträgerten Pd-Nanopartikeln studiert werden. Des Weiteren werden wir patch-artig strukturierte Fasermatten als Träger für katalytisch aktive Nanopartikel nutzen, um so effizientere heterogene Katalysatoren zu entwickeln.

A6

A6_Bild

Synthese poröser Hybridmaterialien auf Basis von Schichtsilicaten: Funktionale Interkalate, Stofftrennung und Katalyse

Kontakt: Professor Dr. Josef Breu, Prof. Dr. Rainer Schobert
Die optimierte Schmelzsynthese eines ladungshomogenen Hectorits erlaubt es uns Quellvor¬gän-ge grundlegend zu verstehen und bietet vielfältige Möglichkeiten interne und externe Oberflächen zu funktionalisieren. Ein allgemeines Syntheseprinzip ermöglicht es 1D-Heterostrukturen über osmotische Quellung zu Doppelstacks oder Janus-Partikeln weiter zu verarbeiten. Mikroporen-räume können durch eingelagerte Abstandshalter (Pillar, Nanopartikel) erzeugt werden um Gastrennung oder Katalyse zu betreiben. Das Projekt befasst sich mit der Entwicklung und Anwendung funktionalisierter nanopartikulärer Schichtsilikate, die durch diverse Strukturierungs-methoden erhalten werden.

A8

Bild Homepage A8_22.11.17

Mesoskopische 2D- und 3D-Gerüste aus Seidenproteinen mit bakteriostatischen Oberflächen-Effekten und antibakterieller Wirkung

Kontakt: Prof. Dr. Thomas Scheibel
Dieses Projekt befasst sich mit der Kontrolle der Eigenschaften rekombinanter Spinnenseiden und daraus hergestellter Materialien. In der Berichtsphase konnten zum einen molekulare Details der Seiden-Assemblierung identifiziert, und darauf aufbauend erstmalig biotechnologisch hergestellte Spinnenseidenfasern mit naturidentischen mechanischen Eigenschaften hergestellt werden. Zum anderen ist es gelungen, biokompatible Beschichtungen auf Implantate und Katheter aufzubringen und so unerwünschte Nebeneffekte nach Implantation signifikant zu vermindern bzw. zu unterdrücken. Darüber hinaus wurden selbsttragende Seidenfilme mit Hektorit vermischt und daraus Gas- und Wasserdampfbarrieren erzeugt.

A10

Logo

Mesostrukturierung von Spin-Crossover-Nanopartikeln

Kontakt: Prof. Dr. Birgit Weber
Im Rahmen dieses Teilprojektes wird die Darstellung und Mesostrukturierung von Spin-Crossover(SCO)-Nanopartikeln untersucht. Das Ziel ist es, von Blockcopolymeren ausgebildete Überstrukturen (z.B. Kugel- oder Zylindermizellen) als Matrix zu verwenden, um so die Partikelgröße und -morphologie zu kontrollieren. Der Einfluss von diesen beiden Parametern, aber auch von Partikel-Matrix-Wechselwirkungen und zwischenpartikulären Wechselwirkungen auf die Spin-Crossover-Eigenschaften (Memory Effect) wird untersucht. Unterschiedliche Methoden zur Anordnung der Partikel auf Oberflächen werden getestet.

A12

Bild_A12_030713

Poröse kompartimentierte elektrogesponnene Membranen für Eintopf Reaktionkaskaden mit, ‘Wolf-Lamb’ Katalysatoren

Kontakt:

Prof. Dr. Seema Agarwal, Prof. Dr. Stephan Gekle


Das Projekt untersucht die Eignung von räumlich heterogenen Fasermembranen und -geometrien mit sehr hohen Porositäten und unterschiedlichen Porengrößen als Träger für inkompatible (Wolf-Lamm) Katalysatoren. Sowohl die Seite-an-Seite als auch die koaxialen Strukturen aus der ersten Phase des Projekts bieten eine einmalige Plattform für die Immobilisierung verschiedener Katalysatoren mit zusätzlichen Vorteilen wie hoher Porosität für effizienten Massentransport, Skalierbarkeit und Wiederverwendbarkeit. Das Projekt kombiniert Experimente mit Computersimulationen, um quantitative Vorhersagen zu treffen und den katalytischen Prozess in räumlich komplexen Strukturen zu verstehen.

Universität Bayreuth -