Research Projects

B1

Bild_B1_260613

Catalytic activity of metallic nanoparticles and nanoalloys immobilized on mesoscopically structured supports

Contact:

Prof. Dr. Rhett Kempe Prof. Dr. Stephan Kümmel


Project B1 aims at the development of highly active nano particle catalysts based on mesoscopically structured supports, and at the understanding of the mechanisms that govern catalytic activity and selectivity. Both monometallic and multimetallic systems are studied. (De)hydrogenation reactions and photoredoc catalytsis are of special interest. The project B1 specifically focuses on testing and understanding whether and how the mesoscopic support influences the nanoparticles' or catalyst properties. It combines experimental and theoretical expertise, and is also interlinked with other projects of the collaborative research center.

B3

B3_Bild

Second Generation Layered Silicates of the as Multifunctional Additives

Contact:

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Volker Altstädt Prof. Dr. Josef Breu


Natural layered silicates have been established as nanofillers with a broad range of potential applications. Synthetic layered silicate (second generation) with aspect ratios of up to 20000 and lateral diameters larger than 2 µm allow for a further quantum leap in relevant material properties. Moreover, novel phenomena not to be observed for natural clays like significant improvement of toughness may be realized. With high filler contents efficient high barriers films can be fabricated even for highly diffusive gases like H2. One remaining current challenge is the realization of multifunctional modes of action like concomitant improvement of fracture toughness and flame retardancy.

B4

B4_Bild

Morphology control of semi-crystalline polymers with supramolecular additives

Contact:

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Volker Altstädt Prof. Dr. Hans-Werner Schmidt Prof. Dr. Jürgen Senker


Based on the results achieved on polypropylene in the previous period, tailored supramolecular additives are synthesized as nucleating agents for amorphous polystyrene and semi-crystalline polybutylene terephthalate foams. One focus is on the evaluation of the interaction between dissolved blowing agent in the polymer melt and the supramolecular nano-objects which are formed in the different steps of the foaming process. Structure-property relationships are developed from the resulting micro- and nanocellular foams. Furthermore, the newly discovered, mesoscale structuring of the nano-objects in ferroelectric domains, as well as their potential applications, are explored.

B7

Bild_B7_260613

Hybrid Systems with Controllable Mesostructures for Photovoltaics

Contact:

Prof. Dr. Markus Retsch Prof. Dr. Mukundan Thelakkat, Dr. Linn Leppert


Controlling the mesostructure is of great importance for the realization of efficient and stable photovoltaic cells. During the past period we developed functional block-copolymer systems, which constitute first building blocks towards a controlled mesostructure via self-assembly. Furthermore, we investigated in detail plasmonic light management, where we could particularly identify the limitations of this concept. During the next period we will continue our work on controlled hybrid systems and will expand our material platform towards brush polymers. Additionally, the emerging class of perovskite solar cells will become a central focus of our investigations. Using an integrated approach combining theoretical predictions, materials synthesis and characterization, our aim is to contribute to a fundamental understanding of the efficiency and stability of perovskite solar cells. In particular, we will focus on two-dimensional perovskite materials. Understanding the thermal conductivity of photoactive materials will open new ways to assess the underlying microstructure, even in operating solar cell devices. This will provide unique insights into the interplay of structure, stability and efficiency.

B8

B8_Bild

Mesoscopically structured functional composite nonwovens for application in separation and catalysis

Contact: ,

Prof. Dr. Andreas Greiner Prof. Dr. Hans-Werner Schmidt


The aim of the project is the fabrication of mesoscopically structured functional composite nonwovens consisting of electrospun polymer fibers and supramolecular fibers. These composite nonwovens are to be investigated in filtration and catalysis. For this purpose, functional polymers and tailored supramolecular building blocks have to be synthesized specifically with respect to their application. Two new concepts will be followed for the preparation of the composite nonwovens. This includes the systematic investigation of the recently discovered grafting of self-assembled fibers on electrospun fibers, as well as composite fabrication by wet-laid processes of electrospun and self-assembled fibers with defined fiber lengths. These composite nonwovens will be used for air filtration and for liquid filtration of metal ions. The nonwovens with immobilized metal ions and metal nanoparticles will also be used in organic catalysis.

B09

Fig7_B9

Multicomponent Nanocomposites with defined spatial distribution

Contact:

 Prof. Dr. Stephan FörsterJun.-Prof. Anna Schenk


This project aims at loading nanoparticles of different forms (sphere, rod, platelet) selectively and with high volume fractions into block copolymer microdomains. The effect of volume fraction, ligand density and interfacial curvature on the formed nanoparticle/block copolymer superlattices will be investigated. With regard to the preparation of mesostructured cobalt(II,III)-oxides the influence of material morphology on the functionality as an electro catalyst for water splitting will be studied.

University Bayreuth -

Forschungsprojekte

B1

Bild_B1_260613

Katalytische Aktivität von metallischen Nanopartikeln und Nanolegierungen immobilisiert auf mesoskopischen Trägersystemen

Kontakt:

Prof. Rhett Kempe; Prof. Stephan Kümmel


Ziel des Teilprojektes B1 ist es, auf Grundlage mesoskopischer Trägersysteme hochaktive nanopartikuläre Katalysatorsysteme zu entwickeln und die Ursachen der katalytischen Aktivität bzw. Selektivität zu verstehen. Neben monometallischen stehen auch multimetallische Katalysatoren im Fokus. Bezüglich der zu untersuchenden Reaktionen interessieren (De)hydrierreaktionen und Photoredox-Katalysen. Insbesondere widmet sich das Projekt der Frage, ob und wie die mesoskopische Trägerung die Partikel- bzw. Katalysatoreigenschaften beeinflusst. Das Projekt ist eine Zusammenarbeit von Theorie und Experiment und kooperiert mit anderen Teilprojekten des Forschungsverbundes.

B3

B3_Bild

Schichtsilikate der zweiten Generation als multifunktionale Additive in Polymeren

Kontakt:

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Volker Altstädt; Prof. Dr. Josef Breu


Natürliche Schichtsilikate weisen als Nanofüllstoff ein breites Anwendungsspektrum auf. Mit synthetischen Schichtsilkaten (zweite Generation), die ein Aspektverhältnis von bis zu 20000 und laterale Durchmesser von > 2 µm aufweisen, lässt sich ein weiterer Quantensprung in relevanten Eigenschaften erreichen. Es können aber z. T. auch mit natürlichen Schichtsilikaten nicht zu beobachtende Phänomene wie eine Zähigkeitssteigung realisiert werden. Mit hohen Füllgraden können selbst für sehr diffusive Gase wie H2 (Hoch)-Barrierebeschichtungen generiert werden. Aktuelle Herausforderung ist es, multifunktionale Wirkmechanismen z. B. die Kombination aus Steigerung der Bruchzähigkeit und Flammschutz zu realisieren.

B4

B4_Bild

Morphologiekontrolle teilkristalliner Polymere durch supramolekulare Polymeradditive

Kontakt:

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Volker Altstädt; Prof. Dr. Hans-Werner Schmidt; Prof. Dr. Jürgen Senker


Aufbauend auf den Ergebnissen der letzten Periode an Polypropylen werden maßgeschneiderte supramolekulare Additive als Nukleierungsmittel für amorphe Polystyrol- und teilkristalline Polybutylentherephthalatschäume synthetisiert. Ein Fokus liegt auf der Untersuchung der Interaktion zwischen im Polymer gelöstem Treibmittel und den entstehenden supramolekularen Nanoobjekten in den verschiedenen Prozessschritten der Schaumbildung. Von den resultierenden mikro- und nanozellulären Schäumen werden Struktur-Eigenschaftsbeziehungen erarbeitet. Zudem gilt es, die neu entdeckte, mesoskalige Strukturierung der Nanoobjekte in ferroelektrische Domänen, sowie deren Anwendungspotenzial herauszuarbeiten.

B7

Bild_B7_260613

Hybridsysteme mit kontrollier­ba­ren Mesostrukturen für die Pho­tovoltaik

Kontakt:

Prof. Dr. Markus Retsch, Prof. Dr. Mukundan Thelakkat, Dr. Linn Leppert

,
Die Kontrolle der Mesostruktur ist von großer Bedeutung für die Herstellung effizienter und stabiler photovoltaischer Zellen. In der vergangenen Förderperiode haben wir hierzu funktionale Block-copolymer Systeme entwickelt, welche erste Bausteine für eine kontrollierte Mesostruktur durch self-assembly darstellen. Des Weiteren haben wir uns detailliert mit plasmonischem Lichtmanagement auseinandergesetzt und konnten hierbei v.a. die Grenzen der Plasmonenverstärkung aufzeigen. In der neuen Förderperiode werden wir die Arbeiten zu kontrollierten Hybridsystemen fortsetzen und dabei die Klasse der brush-Polymere besonders berücksichtigen. Darüber hinaus wird ein Hauptfokus auf Perowskitsolarzellen gelegt werden, deren Effizienz und Stabilität noch nicht verstanden sind. Besonderes Augenmerk gilt der Kombination von theoretischer Berechnung zweidimensionaler Perowskite und der daraus ableitbaren Materialsynthese und –charakterisierung. Insbesondere die Wärmeleitfähigkeit von photoaktiven Materialien wird in den Fokus rücken, da sie eine einzigartige Möglichkeit darstellt die Struktur einer arbeitenden Solarzelle zu charakterisieren und somit in-situ Rückschlüsse auf Lebensdauer und Effizienz zu ziehen.

B8

B8_Bild

Mesoskopisch strukturierte funktionale Kompositvliese für Anwendungen in der Filtration und Katalyse

Kontakt:

Prof. Hans-Werner Schmidt; Prof. Andreas Greiner


Ziel des Projektes ist die Herstellung von mesoskopisch strukturierten funktionalen Kompositvliesen bestehend aus elektrogesponnenen Polymerfasern und supramolekularen Fasern. Diese Kompositvliese sollen in den Anwendungen Filtration und Katalyse untersucht werden. Hierfür sollen funktionale Polymere und maßgeschneiderte supramolekulare Bausteine gezielt anwendungsrelevant synthetisiert werden. Zur Präparation der Kompositvliese werden dabei zwei neue Konzepte verfolgt. Dies beinhaltet die systematische Untersuchung der kürzlich entdeckten Pfropfung von selbstassemblierten Fasern auf elektrogesponnenen Fasern sowie die Komposit-Herstellung durch Nassablage von elektrogesponnenen und selbstassemblierten Fasern mit definierten Faserlängen. Diese Kompositvliese sollen für die Luftfiltration und zur Flüssigfiltration von Metallionen eingesetzt werden. Ebenso sollen die Vliese mit immobilisierten Metallionen und Metallnanopartikeln in der organischen Katalyse eingesetzt werden.

B09

Fig7_B09

Multikomponent-Nanokomposite mit definierter räumlicher Verteilung

Kontakt: Prof. Dr. Stephan Förster, Dr. Linn Leppert
In diesem Teilprojekt sollen Nanopartikel unterschiedlicher Form (Kugel, Stäbchen, Plättchen) selektiv mit hohen Füllgraden in Blockcopolymerdomänen eingebracht werden. Insbesondere soll dabei der Einfluss des Volumenanteils, der Ligandendichte und der Oberflächenkrümmung auf die realisierbaren Nanopartikel/Blockcopolymer-Übergitter untersucht werden. Im Bereich der Erzeugung mesostrukturierter Cobalt(II,III)-oxide sollen komplementär auch bio-inspirierte Ansätze zur Synthese und Strukturierung erprobt und der Einfluss der Morphologie des Materials auf die Funktionalität als Elektrokatalysator für die Wasserspaltung studiert werden.

Universität Bayreuth -